Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Thiruvananthapuram Press Club Journalism Award 2009

Thiruvananthapuram: The journalism awards for the year 2008 instituted by the Press Club, Trivandrum, were presented on 2nd Monday 2009.
The awards for best news-based series, feature, political report, photography and cartoon were distributed by the Central Defence Minister A.K. Antony.
Senior Reporter received the. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 1000, citation and memento.
G. Rajiv of The New Indian Express (Thiruvananthapuram) received V Krishnamoorthy award for the best news story published in English newspapers. Mahesh Gupthan of Malayala Manorama (Malappuram) received the M.
Sivaram award for best news-based series.
G. Venugopal, News Editor, Mangalam daily, Kottayam, received the K.C.
Sebastian award for best political report.
Kerala Kaumudi received the Swadeshabhimani award for best layout.
Visual editor T.K. Sajeev Kumar received the gold medal, memento and citation. Janayugam photographer Rajesh Rajendran received the best news photographer award. The award comprises a gold medal, memento and citation.
G.Sivaprasad of Mathrubhoomi, Thiruvananthapuram, received the Minerva Krishnankutty award for most heart-rending photograph. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 5000, memento and citation. T.K. Sujith, staff cartoonist, Kerala Kaumudi, Thiruvananthapuram bureau, was presented with the best cartoonist award. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 2000, memento and citation.
Saraswathi Nagarajan of The Hindu received the K Madhavankutty award for best feature. G. Venugopal award for adventure journalism was presented to Jayan Menon of Malayala Manorama, Thiruvananthapuram. The award include a cash prize of Rs 5000, citation and memento.
Rekha Chandra of Mathrubhoomi, Kannur unit, received the M.C. Varghese award. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 15,000, citation and memento.
The best national in-house magazine awards were also distributed at the function.
`Uniondhara’ of Union Bank, `Without Reserve’ the in- house magazine of RBI, and ‘Parivar’ of NA BARD won the first, second and third prizes respectively.
U.B. Rairkar, General manager, Union Bank of India, Mumbai, Fanny Sydney and Farid Driver of Reserve Bank of India, Mumbai, and V.S.
Balachandran and V.Rajan of NA BARD received the awards.
Press Club president M.M.Subair presided the function.
Press Club secretary Biju Chandrasekhar welcomed the gathering and treasurer N.V. Balakrishnan proposed a vote of thanks.
News Courtesy: The New Indian Express

No comments:

Post a Comment